Broken But Not Defeated

We live in a time where everyone uses social media. In my opinion it is very dangerous to society. I am not some activist against it because I know it has its perks but so many people use it to compare their lives to what they see on Facebook or whatever it may be. The perfect every day lives you see on here is my problem with it because its fake and we all have our struggles in life. If you are someone who is struggling or looking for hope I promise it is there and can be found in faith for God. I am writing this for someone who can’t see the light at the end of the road and needs to know there are brighter days.

In 2010 I was 18 years old and graduating high school in Pawnee, Oklahoma. My life was pretty normal up to this point and my faith or life had never really been tested. That would all change over the next couple years. My parents divorced in 2010 and that is where things started to turn upside down for me. I tried to act like it never bothered me even though it did. While dealing with that I also hurt some people that were close to me by making some foolish decisions. That added with my parents sent me in a downward spiral. Many times I would ask God why and is it going to ever get better. It didn’t get better at all.

Over the next couple years things kept getting worse. My sisters were injured and a four wheeler wreck and one of them was in a coma for a week. Initially there wasn’t much hope she would make it and if she did she wouldn’t fully be with us. I have never prayed so hard in my life. God gave us a miracle and thankfully my sisters are still with us today and in perfect health. I thought this would be the time that everything would begin going back to normal but that wasn’t the case. Someone very close to me was facing some battles inside and is no longer with us today. For certain reasons I still blame myself today and it is something I know will never get better. There were many times I wanted to give up. It is true how they say when your all the way down there is no where to look but up.

After facing these trials my faith in God has never been better. He took my darkest times and used them to lead me to where I am today. I fully believe my life would not be the same now if God would not have tested me the way he did. So if you are reading this and feel like there is no up from wherever you are trust me that there is. God heals all wounds. I am also personally here for anyone who could use a friend to talk to. My one thing I ask is that you don’t get on social media and compare your life to the people on there because your only getting one side of their life!

“Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal

So lay down your burdens
Lay down your shame
All who are broken
Lift up your face”

One thought on “Broken But Not Defeated

Leave a Reply

